Friday, May 4, 2007

Shri ParamHans Advait Mat

Shri Satguru Devai Namah:

  • Bolo Jai Kara Bol Mere Shri Guru Maharaj Ji Ki Jai
  • Bolo Sache Darbar Ki Jai
  • Bolo Mere Shri Guru Maharaj Ji ki Jai

Wednesday, May 2, 2007

Kundalini Picture

All Chakars

7- Chakras The Energy centers In our Body

Human beings breathe 920,000,000 times during a complete lifetime. This amounts to 118

years, three months, 12 days, 14 hours and 13 minutes. When in a natural state, the proper

number of breaths taken in a minute is 15, whereas in a day of 24 hours one should breathe

21,600 times. If the speed of the breath is disturbed, one is not at peace, and slowly the mind

loses its balance.

Too much sleep, tamasic food (spicy), temperamental instability, etc. makes the lifespan shorter.

Human beings have to be re-born again to complete the amount of breaths left from their last

birth. By meditation and living with proper conduct, having sattvic food, leading an evenly paced

life, one can live a complete life attaining the goal of self-realization.The yogis meditate on the six

chakras, which are connected by the Banknal (spinal cord) or Merudanda from the base of the

body to the top of the head. By meditating on these chakras, the body remains healthy and the

heart and the mind stay in perfect equilibrium. The thought processes become sattvic (pure)

and true knowledge and the path to self-realisation becomes easy.

The Yogacharyas (teachers of yoga) believe that the human body has 72,864 nadis (nerves)

which are joined to the Banknal. Along the Banknal, the six chakras, the Muladhara (base), are

Svadisthana (genitals), Manipuraka (navel), Anahata (heart), Vishuddha (throat), Agya (third

eye). The seventh chakra, that is Sahasra Kamala, has the Guru Sthan - the supreme place - and

is also called Amrit Lok (Nectar World), Shiva Sthana (place of Shiva), Mukti Sthan (free from

bondage), Amar Lok (immortal world) etc.

One : " The Muladhara chakra, located at the base of the body, the anus, has four petals and is

red in colour. The shape is like that of an elephant's trunk. It is the seat of Apana Vayu. The

prime work of this chakra is to keep the digestive system correct,which is considered extremely

important in the Ayurvedic system of medicine for a healthy mind and body. By meditating, and

keeping it clean, the Kundalini is awakened from here and a yogi derives perfect health, clear

intellect, strength and purity of thoughts. A yogi should meditate on this chakra for 40 minutes,

taking 600 breaths.

Two :. The Svadisthana chakra is located in the linga (genitals), and is of

yellow colour, with six petals. It has Krakal Vayu. This is the place of virya (for men) and raj (for

women), which is necessary for reproduction. By meditation for 80 minutes, taking 1200

breaths, one can purify this chakra, attaining the qualities of patience, tolerance, faith and


Three:The Manipura chakra is located at the nabhi (navel) and is blue in colour,

with 10 petals. The main nadis here are Ida, Pingala and in-between them is the Sushumna nadi.

Samana Vayu resides in this lotus. Saman Vayu attracts pran vayu from the heart and the apan

vayu from the base. This union of prana and apana takes the breath through the Banknal

towards the shikhar (top of the head). Manipurak chakra has 10 petals and is where different

desires are born. By meditating here for 2,400 breaths, that is 160 minutes, these desires are

stilled, leading to joy, peace and contentment. Feelings of bairaag (detachment) and single

pointed concentration manifest.

Four: Anhat chakra is situated in the heart. There are 12 petals

of a white colour and it is ruled by Lord Shiva. Prana Vayu which nourishes and protects the

whole body resides here. One should meditate on this chakra for 4,800 breaths (320 minutes)

every day. This fills the heart with love, truth, kindness, forgiveness, and non-violence, and

gives the power to generate total selflessness.

Five:. Vishuddha Chakra is located in the throat

area. It is black in colour and has 16 petals in the lotus. This is the seat of the most delicate of the

nadis. The Lord of this chakra is jiva, the meditation time is 9,600 breaths, amounting to 640

minutes. Many extraordinary powers and siddhis are attained by doing sadhana on this chakra,

which a yogi can use at will. Details can be found in works on Hatha Yoga.

Six: Agya chakra

is situated in the place of the third eye. There are two petals, and two nadis, Gandhari and

Hastini, in this lotus. The colour of this chakra is deep red. This is the centre of the Gyandriyas

(knowledge). The divine light of true knowledge is derived by the union of Ida, Pingala and

Sushumna nadis here. It's also called the triveni or trikuti, where the three rivers merge. One

should concentrate on this chakra for 200 minutes, taking 3,000 breaths. All the bhranti

(illusions) disappear and the yogi is able to see from the divine light, within oneself. The thoughts

and the soul become one, here.

Seven: Sahastrahaar is located at the top of the head and, as its

name suggests, has 1,000 petals. The colour of this lotus is smokey grey and this is the place of

supreme enlightenment. This is the Guru Sthan, as it rules and controls the whole body,

consisting of all the indriyas. All bodily functions are obeyed by these indriyas by the orders

given from here. Thus it is also called the Shikhar Lok (supreme place). The supreme power of

the awakened Kundalini enters here and that is when the yogi attains nirvana. The soul becomes

one with the cosmos, free from birth and death and all kind of material bondage. All illusions are

destroyed and the amrit (nectar) flows from within. The great yogis who attain this state of

perfect equilibrium of the vritti and surti, that is the negative and positive characteristics, merge

in Sahaj Samadhi, Absolute Consciousness. The ultimate goal for all yogis is to attain this state of


Chakar Locations in the Body

Our Body

1st Chakar Muladhara

2nd Chakar Svadisthana

3rd Chakar Manipur

4th Chakar Anhat

5th Chakar Vishuddha

6th Chakar Agya

7th Chakar Sahastrahaar

Light of Soul